How To Get a California Highway Patrol Accident Report
Any party of interest can request a California Highway Patrol (CHP) Report. A party in interest may be the driver, passenger, owner, heir or parent of someone in an accident. To obtain a report from the CHP, you must provide:
- The date, time and location of the accident.
- List the names of the driver or owner.
- State your interest as driver, passenger, owner, parent or heir.
- Give the address you want the report sent to.
- Sign the Request for the Report.
- Pay applicable fees
- Attach a copy of your California Drivers License or Identification card.
If you do not include a copy of your California Drivers License or ID card, then your signature must be notarized. You can request a copy of the CHP Traffic Accident Report at any CHP Office either by going in person or by mail. The CHP charges $10 for a report up to 25 pages and up to $40 if the report is 75-100 pages in length. If you send a check, make it out to California Highway Patrol.CHP Locations
The California Highway Patrol (CHP) offices in Sacramento are located at:
5109 Tyler Street
Sacramento, CA 95841
2045 Hurley Way
Sacramento, Ca 95825
601 North 7th Street
Sacramento, Ca 95831
Obtaining a report can be an onerous, costly project when your up to your eyeballs in problems arising from an accident. An easier way to get a report for your accident is to contact the Law Offices of injury lawyer, Ed Smith. Our office will obtain the report for free, discuss what actions you can take till the report comes out, and when we get the report, tell you how best to get recovery for your injuries or damages.
Our website, www.AutoAccident.com is the leading accident law site in California.
Call Ed today, for free, friendly advice at 916.921.6400 in Sacramento.
We are members of Million Dollar Advocates Forum
Photo by Depositphotos.comEditor's Note: This page has been updated for accuracy and relevancy. [cha 8.9.18]