Texting and Driving in California (with Infographic)
Being distracted by a cell phone while driving can lead to dangerous scenarios. This has led California to implement a distracted driving law, which bans drivers from using handheld cell phones, with certain exceptions. These include making emergency calls and for those who are driving emergency vehicles. If you have been injured by someone who was texting and driving in California, feel free to reach out to me about the state's distracted driving law. I am Ed Smith, one of the highest rated auto accident personal injury attorneys in California with over 3 decades of experience. In this article, we'll talk about California's law on distracted driving.Californian Distracted Driving Law Facts and StatsWhat Is the Distracted Driving Law?
The dangers of texting while driving led the state of California and many other states to come up with a law that enforces a texting ban on drivers. The California vehicle code 23123.5 states:
Distracted Driving Statistics
A person shall not drive a motor vehicle while using an electronic wireless communications device to write, send, or read a text-based communication, unless the electronic wireless communications device is specifically designed and configured to allow voice-operated and hands-free operation to dictate, send, or listen to a text-based communication, and it is used in that manner while driving. (reference – leginfo.ca.gov)
- There are 2,758 traffic fatalities every year in California. (reference chp.ca.gov)
- 18% of all fatal auto accidents are crashes are caused by distractions. (reference – fcc.gov)
- Reading text messages on a cell phone while driving involves visual, manual, and mental distraction.
- Reading a text takes your eyes off the road for 4.6 seconds (reference –distraction.gov)
- You can cover the length of a football field while reading a text. (A vehicle going 55 MPH covers just over 80 feet per second. 80 feet times 4.6 seconds equals 368 feet. A football field is 360 feet).